Sociology of Inequality, Poverty, and Mobility

Home » Announcements


November 3, 2018

IPM Section Award Nominations

Outstanding Book Award

Awarded annually for a book published in the three calendar years preceding the ASA annual meeting at which the award is bestowed. Award Committee Chair: Steve Viscelli (email: )

Committee Member Addresses for Book Submissions:

Steve Viscelli, 3814 Walnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19104; Kendra Bischoff, Department of Sociology, Cornell University 338 Uris Hall Ithaca, NY 14853; Michael Gaddis, 2728 Locksley Place Los Angeles CA 90039; Brooke Harrington, c/o Florencia Torche
Department of Sociology, Stanford University, 450 Serra Mall Building 120 McClatchy Hall #244, Stanford CA, 94305;  Laura Tach, 2310 Martha van Rensselaer Hall, Cornell University Ithaca NY 14853

Devah Pager Outstanding Article Award

Sponsored annually for an article published in the calendar year preceding the ASA annual meetings. Award Committee Chair: Alexandra Killewald (email:

Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award

Sponsored annually for a graduate student paper presented at a professional conference during the calendar year preceding the ASA annual meetings or published during the same time period. Award Committee Chair: Siwei Cheng (email:

Robert M. Hauser Distinguished Scholar Award

Awarded annually to mark and celebrate the field’s most fundamental accomplishments. Award Committee Chair: Christine Schwartz (email:

William Julius Wilson Early Career Award

Awarded annually to recognize a scholar who has made major contributions early in his/her career. Persons who received their highest degree within the previous ten years shall be eligible to receive this award. Award Committee Chair: Christine Schwartz (email:

All Awards have a deadline of March 4, 2019.

Please note that all nominees must be registered members of the ASA to be considered for section awards.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: